Nissan Workers, UAW Official, Human Rights Expert to Testify Before Inter-American Commission on Human Rights


Share This

March on Mississippi protestors

Hearing will address the attack on human rights in the U.S. automotive industry,

and will focus on the case of Nissan in Mississippi

The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, a body of the Organization of American States, is set to hear testimony about the effective denial of the right to collective bargaining for U.S. workers, in the auto industry and throughout the economy. The hearing will focus on the anti-union campaign conducted by Nissan in Mississippi. Nissan workers will testify about their personal experiences during the anti-union campaign.

Experts will testify that U.S. corporations and right-wing politicians have waged a war on collective bargaining and union representation, denying U.S. workers their internationally-recognized human rights.

Mary Joyce Carlson, international labor rights attorney, will testify about social conditions in the U.S. South – including racial inequality and a history of suppressing human rights – that provide the context for anti-union campaigns, and that allow corporations and governments to continue to suppress human rights in the American South.

People who will testify:

  • Kristyne Peter, director, International Affairs, UAW
  • Morris Mock, Nissan worker, Canton, Mississippi
  • Travis Parks, Nissan worker, Canton, Mississippi
  • Mary Joyce Carlson, international labor rights attorney, former deputy general counsel of the National Labor Relations Board
  • Video testimony from Danny Glover


The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, according to its website, is “A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has a mandate to promote respect for and to defend human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this area. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who are elected in an individual capacity by the OAS General Assembly and who do not represent their countries of origin or residence.”

  , ,

Other users read these articles next...